top of page

Why You Need a Contract


During my 18 years as a writer, editor and content manager, I have been asked many times, "Do we really need a contract?"

My answer? Yes, we really do.

A contract doesn't just protect me. It protects you, too. (For the writers reading this post, obviously, the "me" here is you, interacting with your client base.)

Although my experience in the writing world has been overwhelmingly positive - and yes, I'm grateful - I admit I've heard a horror story or two over the years from both the client and writer angle. At the source of these complaints is, usually, the lack of clear parameters before starting the project, and specifically, a lack of a signed contract.

A contract lets the writer know exactly what's expected of her, including lead times/the project end date, when she can expect to get paid (during the process? Partial payment down? Full payment at the end with net 30 terms?), and protects her in case of non-payment or publishing without rights.

At the same time, the client is protected from receiving shoddy or incomplete work, receiving work very late, or not receiving any work at all.

For writers reading this post, pulling together a contract will be easy for you. After all, you're a writer! Curious how to get started? Here's a good article on the basics.

For the client: be sure to read the ENTIRE contract completely before agreeing. Ask for changes before signing the contract and committing to the project.

This one simple measure will clear up questions ahead of time, help guide the process from beginning to end, and ensure a finished project that makes both parties happy.

Melanie


SOPHIE'S
COOKING TIPS

#1 

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#2

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#3

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

bottom of page